Our Curriculum

Hughes Primary School is currently implementing the Australian Curriculum.

Subject structure: Each subject has the following sections:

  • rationale and aims
  • year level descriptions
  • content descriptions (knowledge, understanding & skills)
  • content elaborations (illustrative examples only)
  • achievement standards that describe the quality of learning and the depth of understanding
  • annotated student work samples
  • glossary

General Capabilities: key skills, behaviours and dispositions developed within all subjects.

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology (ICT) competence
  • Critical & creative thinking
  • Ethical behaviour
  • Personal & social competence
  • Intercultural understanding

Cross Curriculum Priorities:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability